UAB Nursing celebrates the achievements of Nurse Residency grads

Congratulations to the most recent group of nurses who completed UAB Medicine’s Nurse Residency program, which helps newly licensed nurses transition into competent clinical practice. During the 12-month program, nurse residents develop professionally, gain practice knowledge, and learn to improve their skills by implementing a quality improvement or evidence-based practice project.

These “Cohort 21” participants completed many outstanding projects, and we’d like to celebrate two who were recognized for excellence:

  • Tyler Rose (Perioperative Services) received national recognition for his project titled, “Same-Day, Case-Specific Preference Cards in OR”.
  • Tricia Marollano (UNSN) was awarded the People’s Choice Award for the Cohort 21 project titled, “Educating Nurses on the AGS Beers Criteria” during a recent seminar.

The Cohort 21 graduates and their units/areas are listed below, along with other awards:

Cardiovascular Services

  • Preston Motley, CCU
  • Daryelle Miller, CCU
  • Donald DeVenny, CCU
  • John Kozar, CCU
  • Shakenzie Alexander, CCU
  • James Brakefield, CCU
  • Wendy Gonzalez, CCU
  • Leslie Hallman, CICU
  • Lucas Dorning, CICU
  • Elizabeth “Annie” Skoneki, CPCC
  • Maria Trigo, CPCC
  • Natalie Morton, CPCC
  • Skylar Tucker, CPCC
  • Emily Waller, CPCC
  • Abigail Lombard, CPCC

Medical Services

  • Anna Johannessen, BMT
  • Katie Cleveland, HOSU
  • Zachary Vance, HSP2
  • Kenley Bradshaw, MICU

Neuroscience Services

  • Allyson Wade, NSSU
  • Tricia Marollano, UNSN

Perioperative Services

  • Tyler Rose, UAB Hospital-Highlands OR
  • Jessica Huddleston, OR
  • Shelby Johnsey, OR
  • Maricruz Borja, OR

Psychiatric Services

  • Emmaline Thomas, C5N

Surgical Sevices

  • Audrey Spurlock, TBICU
  • Kathryn Carter, TBICU
  • Abby Wells, TBICU
  • Derek Borden, TBICU
  • Paula Bernstein, TBICU

Women & Infants Services

  • Erica Moore, CCN
  • Emily Strange, CCN
  • Acenia Bradley, MBU
  • Lauryn Cochran, MBU
  • Tya Reynolds, MBU
  • Jade England, RNICU
  • Bailee Mines, RNICU

People’s Choice Award

  • Tricia Marollano, UNSN, Neurology Division – EBP Project, “Educating Nurses on the AGS Beers Criteria”

Learn more about joining our Magnet-designated nursing team and UAB Medicine’s Nurse Residency Program.

By using this site you agree to our Privacy Policy.