UAB Medicine News


2018 Clinical Excellence in Nursing Awards

2018 UAB Clinical Excellence in Nursing Award Winners



UAB Medicine congratulates the 2018 recipients of the Clinical Excellence in Nursing Award, which is the highest honor available for nursing staff within UAB Health System.

Each year, professional nurses and nursing support staff are considered for this award based upon nursing knowledge, technical skills, and clinical leadership. The awards are presented during the American Nurses Association's annual National Nurses Week, which begins each year on May 6 and concludes on May 12, Florence Nightingale's birthday.

UAB Hospital Chief Nursing Officer Terri Poe commends recipients of this prestigious award for their dedication to improving patient care. She says they live UAB Medicine's Core Values through their continual display of accountability, compassion, integrity, and collaboration.                            

Advanced Practice Nursing Award

Ja-Lin Chen, CNE             


ANM/Team Lead Excellence

Nick Boshell, Infusion Therapy  

Kensi Duncan, Labor and Delivery            

Stacey Greer, P9             

Morgan Webb, ATCU    


Excellence in Nursing Award

Denise Banks, W6NW   

Tina Bearden, TKC Endoscopy   

Jillian Bridges, ATCU       

Lisa Brown-Hearon, Primary Care-Hoover            

Latisa Chappel, BMT      

April Ellis, NICU

Hailey Hammond, ICVU

Theresa Ejem, HICU       

Amanda Hoover, RNICU              

Fatiha Johnson, GYNX   

Abigail Palco, NSSU        

Amber Parker, 9S            

Lauren Smith, OCDU      

Rebecca Smith, 9S          

Joseph Travis, HSP3/8S 


Caring Partner Award

Aaryn Levert-Kidd, Hospital Administration         


Clerical Nursing Excellence

Naomi Banks-Kirksey, Prime Care-Hoover           

Adam Painter, Labor and Delivery           

Christina Perryman, CCU             


Patient Care Technician/Certified Medical Assistant Nursing Excellence

Mary Burton, Labor and Delivery             

Christie Gunn, OR           

Andrew Higgins, TKC Cardiology               

Kelli Roberts, OR             

Bertha Sanders, NSSU  


Excellence in Leadership Award

Annie Shedlarski, Primary Care-Hoover

Jacqueline Westbrook, Medical Nursing