UAB Medicine News


UAB School of Medicine Honors EyeSight Foundation of Alabama

The EyeSight Foundation of Alabama (ESFA) was honored on Sept. 12, 2017, by the UAB School of Medicine at the Woodward House in recognition of the group’s significant philanthropic commitment to UAB over the past 20 years. During that time, ESFA has graciously donated more than $60 million in philanthropic support to a variety of areas including research, education, and patient care for the UAB Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, UAB Callahan Eye Hospital, the UAB School of Medicine, and the UAB School of Optometry.

Speakers at the ceremony included UAB President Ray L. Watts, MD, and Selwyn Vickers, MD, UAB senior vice president and dean of the UAB School of Medicine. President Watts and Dean Vickers honored ESFA with the Partnership Recognition Award, commemorating 20 years of support for both UAB and Callahan Eye Hospital. Accepting the award on behalf of ESFA was Torrey DeKeyser, ESFA executive director, and John Coleman, ESFA chair.

During the event, two honorees became recipients of the seventh and eighth ESFA Visionary Awards. One was presented to Clarence Blair, chair of the board of the Eye Foundation Hospital (later renamed UAB Callahan Eye Hospital) at the time UAB purchased it in 1997. The other was awarded to James “Jim” Davis, the first chair of the Alabama Eye Institute (later renamed the EyeSight Foundation of Alabama), the grant-making foundation established from the sale of the hospital. Congratulations to both 2017 Visionary Award recipients.

In addition to its support of UAB, the ESFA has awarded grants to more than 35 nonprofit organizations in Alabama that help fulfill its mission to serve as a catalyst for improving eyesight through education, research, and access to care.

Produced by UAB Medicine Marketing   Communications (learn more about our content).